Articles & References

Numismatic Bibliomania Society

ANA National Coin Week Activities

Numismatics and Cryptography by Michael E. Marotta

Henning counterfeit nickel. article

Spark erosion dies. NGC article

Upcoming Coin Shows

Upcoming local shows:

Central Texas Coin Show
500 VFW Drive. Round Rock, TX

July 11th, 2022

Bring your current Capital City Coin Club membership card and get in for free!


Capital City Coin Club Celebrates 50 Years!

2019 is the 50th Anniversary of the creation of the Capital City Coin Club in Austin, Texas. The Capital City Coin Club has completed their 50th Anniversary Commemorative Coin! Only 150 were made. The club is selling them for $10 each to cover costs. Come to any meeting to find out more information.


Please note our meeting location.

Old Quarry Branch Library 7051 Village Center Drive 78731

Please contact the club secretary for more details.

This bill tied for first place in the Year Long Scavenger Hunt

The year long scavenger hunt was to find a U.S. paper currency with a serial number closest to "19692019" representing our 50 years in existence.
We had a tie for first place!


Club History

The Capital City Coin Club was organized in 1969. Our first coin show was in 1972 and the club has held at least one show every year since. Some of the original club meeting locations were the Travis County Court House, The Austin History Center and several local city libraries.  Read more...

2020 Meeting Schedule

January 2nd February 6th
March 5th April 2nd
May 7th June 4th
July 2nd August 6th
September 3rd October 1st
November 4th (Elections) December 2nd

Program: Due to COVID-19 causing our meeting loction to close, meetings are suspended until the libraries open up again. Thank you for your patience. We do plan on having get togethers every now and again, COVID permitting.

Time:   7:15 p.m.

Old Quarry Library
7051 Village Center Drive
Austin, TX 78731
Meeting Location Google Map
You are welcome to come join us!
Contact Us

Wooden Nickel

The club distributed wooden nickels in 2009. Designed by Francis Smith, they commerated the club's 40th anniversary.

In 2019 the club made up a new Wooden Nickel for their 50th Anniversary Year. This year in COLOR!

2020 Officers

President: Alan Russell
Vice President: Vacant
Secretary: Vacant
Treasurer: Brian Jones

Webmasters: Mike Marotta/John Doty/Mitch London